Co. Chamber of Commerce Honors LoBiondo; Installs New Officers, Directors

Published Tuesday, November 13, 2018

WILDWOOD – Cape May County Chamber of Commerce's 74th annual meeting and installation, Oct. 17, was a time to laud U.S. Rep. Frank LoBiondo for 24 years representing the 2nd Congressional District.

The event was held at the Wildwoods Convention Center with about 250 in attendance.

The Republican representative for the 2nd Congressional District opted not to seek reelection Nov. 6.

A number of past board chairs gathered around Barbara Tomalino who highlighted the many times LoBiondo had assisted the county in its beach replenishment and other tourism-related endeavors.

Chair Maura McMahon Primus and chamber President Vicki Clark also thanked LoBiondo and presented him with a challenge coin, something he collects, to remember the event and year. All in attendance received a similar coin from the chamber.

A flag that had flown over the Capitol was presented by LoBiondo to Clark as a token of his appreciation for the support the chamber had rendered over the decades.

Freeholder Director Gerald Thornton, accompanied by freeholders E. Marie Hayes and Jeffrey Pierson recounted LoBiondo's career from Cumberland County freeholder then to General Assembly, and finally to Congress. He then presented a resolution on behalf of the board to LoBiondo.

After the presentations, LoBiondo was given the honor of administering the oath of office to incoming officers and directors.

Officers installed were: Maura McMahon Primus, chair, Doug Burke, first vice chair, Amy Mahon, second vice chair, Tom Rippman, secretary, Ron Sulpizi, treasurer, Vicki Clark, president, Tom Piratzky, immediate past chair.

Awards of excellence were presented to:

Member of the Year: Hutchinson Plumbing Heating, Cooling Energy Services.

Volunteer of the Year: Amy Mahon.

New Business: Mudhen Brewing Co.

Spirit of Leadership: Patrick Rosenello.

Golden Whelk Tourism: Cape May County Tourism Department.

Cape May County Betterment: Township of Lower.

Veteran in Business Leadership: Mark Pask, Luther Ogden Inn.

Young Professional of the Year: Dana Wilson, Yes We Can!

26th Annual Environmental Leadership: Jessie Creek Winery.

Historic Preservation: Cape May County Historical and Genealogical Society.

Back to top